SOUTH CAROLINA, NORTH CAROLINA, AND GEORGIA Hiking Links

MULTI-STATE TRAILS, and CANADA

 

Be sure and bookmark this page!

If you have a link to share, please email me at PhikeArts@gmail.com. Thanks. Caroline

 

 

Blogs:

Hiking the Carolinas   http://ctrinkley.wordpress.com/

Meanderthals: A Hiking Blog http://internetbrothers.org/

 

Georgia Hiking Links:

Georgia Trails http://www.georgiatrails.com/

Georgia State Parks http://gastateparks.org/

National Parks, GA  http://www.nps.gov/state/ga/index.htm

Arabia Mountain  http://arabiaalliance.org/explore/trails/

Appalachian Trail  http://www.nps.gov/appa/index.htm

Coweeta Creek and Betty Creek Valleys http://www.sherpaguides.com/georgia/mountains/blue_ridge/eastern/coweeta_creek_betty_creek_valleys.html

Paynes Creek Trail, Hartwell, GA http://www.sas.usace.army.mil/Portals/61/docs/lakes/hartwell/PlanaVisit/PaynesCreek/PaynesCreekTrail.jpg

Toccoa Falls, GA http://www.cityoftoccoa.com/toccoa-falls.cfm

Chattahoochee/Oconee National Forest http://www.fs.usda.gov/activity/conf/recreation/hiking/?recid=10454&actid=50

Blue Ridge Ranger District/Chattahoochee National Forest http://www.fs.usda.gov/Internet/FSE_DOCUMENTS/fsm9_028893.pdf

Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division http://georgiawildlife.com/maps/hunting  Be sure to check hunting season restrictions!

 

North Carolina Hiking Links:

Ridgecrest Tranquility Trails near Black Mountain http://ridgecrestconferencecenter.org/system/application/assets/dropbox/Ridgecrest_Trail_Map.pdf

Appalachian Trail Mileage/North Carolina http://www.summitpost.org/appalachian-trail-mileage-chart/593282#chapter_3

Bracken Preserve (Brevard) http://www.cityofbrevard.com/DocumentCenter/Home/View/347

Craggy Garden/Blue Ridge Parkway Trails http://www.virtualblueridge.com/maps/craggy-gardens-trails.pdf

Cliffside Lake Recreation Area http://www.highlandsinfo.com/hiking/cliffside.htm

Crowder Mountain State Park Map http://www.ncparks.gov/Visit/parks/crmo/pics/parkmap.pdf

Florence Nature Preserve http://www.carolinamountain.org/hikingchallenge/florence

Gorges State Park Map http://www.ncparks.gov/Visit/parks/gorg/pics/parkmap.pdf

Kings Mountain National  Military Park http://www.nps.gov/kimo/index.htm

Friends of Dupont Forest http://www.dupontforest.com/

Montreat  http://www.montreat.org/play/activities/hiking/

Friends of Panthertown Valley http://panthertown.org/

North Carolina State Parks  http://ncparks.gov/Visit/main.php

National Forests/North Carolina http://www.fs.usda.gov/nfsnc

North Carolina Rail-Trails (bicycle/walk) http://ncrailtrails.org/

Carolina Thread Trail http://www.carolinathreadtrail.org/

Buffalo Creek Park, Lake Lure, NC http://www.townoflakelure.com/buffalo-creek-park.php

Bracken Mountain http://brackenmountain.com/

Coweeta Creek and Betty Creek Valleys http://www.sherpaguides.com/georgia/mountains/blue_ridge/eastern/coweeta_creek_betty_creek_valleys.html

Mountain to Sea Trail (MST) http://www.hikewnc.info/trailheads/north-carolina-mountains-to-sea-trail/sections/

Pinnacle Park, Sylva http://www.sylvanc.govoffice3.com/index.asp?Type=B_BASIC&SEC=%7B59398704-3D1C-4144-AF73-E21526AB2848%7D&DE=%7B1D99337D-C91A-456B-9BCF-3EF714EC9EE6%7D

Holmes Educational State Forest http://www.ncesf.org/hesf/hesf_about.htm

Friends of the Mountain to Sea Trail http://www.ncmst.org/the-trail/mst-day-hikes/sections13-17/day-hikes-blue-ridge-parkway-north/

 

South Carolina Hiking Links:

SC Department of Natural Resources/Heritage Preserves http://www.dnr.sc.gov/

Nine Times Preserve http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/southcarolina/placesweprotect/nine-times-preserve.xml#thingsToDo

Nine Times Forest http://www.naturalandtrust.org/nine-times-forest/

SC State Trails Program http://sctrails.net/trails/

South Carolina State Parks http://www.southcarolinaparks.com/

Jocassee Gorges DNR Map http://www.dnr.sc.gov/maps.html

Francis Marion and Sumter National Forests http://fs.usda.gov/activity/scnfs/recreation/hiking/?recid=47051&actid=50

Congaree National Park http://nps.gov/cong/index.htm

Palmetto Trail  http://palmettoconservation.org/maps.asp

Lake Conestee Nature Park  http://lakeconesteenaturepark.com/

Swamp Rabbit Trail (Walk/Bicycle)  http://greenvillerec.com/swamprabbit

SC Hiker's Handbook  http://scgreatoutdoors.com/hb-hiking.html

Three Rivers Greenway http://riveralliance.org/project/three-rivers-greenway/

Carolina Thread Trail http://www.carolinathreadtrail.org/

Green Mountain, Cleveland http://www.naturalandtrust.org/green-mountain/

Doodle Trail (Bicycle/Walk) http://cityofpickens.com/doodle

Milliken Arboretum http://www.milliken.com/en-us/ourcompany/visitors/Documents/RMC-Map.pdf

Upstate SORBA (Bike/Hike) http://upstatesorba.com/local-trails/

Fants Grove, Pendleton, SC http://www.clemson.edu/cafls/cef/documents/Trail_Loops_revised_nov21.pdf

JFA Trail, Pleasant Ridge County Park Hiking/Biking http://pleasantridgecampandretreatcenter.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Pleasant-Ridge-Map.jpg http://greenvillerec.com/parks/pleasant-ridge

Cleveland Park, Greenville, SC http://www.greenvillesc.gov/Facilities/Facility/Details/Cleveland-Park-1

Table Rock State Park http://www.southcarolinaparks.com/tablerock/tr-trails.aspx

Clemson Experimental Forest http://www.clemson.edu/cafls/cef/maps_of_trails.html

Buzzard's Roost http://www.emapstore.com/sc_blue_ridge_mountains/Hike/BuzzRoost4.pdf

Kings Mountain National Military Park Trails http://www.nps.gov/kimo/planyourvisit/naturethingstodo.htm

WMA Link Upstate SC http://www.dnr.sc.gov/wma/maps/WMAMap1.pdf

Foothills Trail Conference http://foothillstrail.org/

South Carolina Forestry Commission State Forest Recreation https://www.state.sc.us/forest/recreat.htm

Asbury Hills, permission/gate code required https://asburyhills.org/facilities/

 

Multi-state Trails:

Benton McKaye Trail Association http://www.bmta.org/

Appalachian Trail Conservancy http://www.appalachiantrail.org/

 

Canada:

Trail maps and locations for popular hiking trails in Ontario http://ontariohikingtrails.com/

 

Photography Links:

Random Thoughts on Taking Photographs http://ctrinkley.wordpress.com/2014/07/23/random-thoughts-on-taking-photographs/

 

Survival/Hiking Tips:

Wilderness Survival Guide: How To Stay Alive if Lost, Hurt or Stranded http://ammo.com/articles/surviving-in-the-wild

A Guide to Hiking Basics (click on the titles to get to the linked pages) https://www.9round.com/articles/a-guide-to-hiking-basics

 

Back to Main Page  http://phikearts.com